Living with a Mum on a Mindfulness Mission

I’m sure, like me, those of you of a certain age were very happy to see Cold Feet return to our screens again recently.

©ITV Plc

The series didn’t disappoint with warmth and humour in abundance.  In addition, the story line given to Jon Thomson’s character Pete revolved around the serious theme of mental health, and more specifically someone who was dealing with depression.  However, the show gave it a lighter slant when Pete tried Mindfulness.  Though it was a fairly stereotypical portrayal of the practices (the raisin scene had me in stitches while the snippet of the class left me cringing), it was good to see it being publicised on mainstream TV.   Although Pete found Mindfulness really helpful, his wife Jenny was less convinced, and it left me wondering how my husband really views my attachment to living mindfully.

So I thought I’d do some digging and ask him a few questions.  Here is the first attempt:

Me: What does Mindfulness mean to you?

Him:  Something to do with raisins?

Me:  Initially how did you view Mindfulness?

Him:  As an excuse to lie down.

Me: What do you consider the impact on family life of a one of the parents practicing Mindfulness?

Him:  More childcare duties for the other one.

Me:  Has Mindfulness noticeably changed me since practicing it?

Him:  Yes – see my previous answer.

Me:  Do you think Mindfulness has changed you?  How important does formal mindful meditative practice seem?

Yes – see above.  Very – I need to an excuse to lie down too……

Mmmm I could see this wasn’t going the way I had envisaged, and as I feared, though outwardly very supportive of my attachment to mindful living I did appear to have a sceptic on my hands.

So I went away (took some deep breaths!) and then tried again.

This time round after being bribed with beer to take the ‘interview’ seriously I got some interesting responses which encouraged me to continue my mission to practice mindfulness as much as a busy Mum possibly can.  Here are his more thoughtful answers:

Me: What does Mindfulness mean to you?

Him:  Living in the present moment and not getting too bound up in negative thoughts and worries  (Me:  oooooh so you have been listening to me a bit!)

Me:  Initially how did you view Mindfulness?

Him:  To start with I thought it was some kind of meditation practice that offered someone a rest from the day.  Now I can see that it is more than that and can offer a great range of benefits.

Me: What do you consider the impact on family life of one of the parents practicing Mindfulness?

Him:  It has certainly helped bring more calmness more often to our home.  I also think it has influenced how we speak to, and interact with the children, and each other (Methis is sounding more promising :-))

Me:  Has Mindfulness noticeably changed me since I have been practicing it?

Him:  Yes – you are calmer, more content and seem more resilient (Me:  Ahhhhh that’s nice that you have noticed….)

Me:  Do you think Mindfulness has changed you?  How important does formal mindful meditative practice seem to be to you?

Him:  Although I haven’t done any formal training or practice I’ve seen how much it has helped you.  If you do a guided body scan last thing at night then I tend to follow it too (Me:  Yay – I knew it, I knew you were listening too).   I’m trying to apply some of the principles to home and work life now – mostly to help bring patience, focus and positivity to more challenging situations.

From reading some of your posts and articles you’ve shared it’s reminded me of some of the things I previously took from sport – being in the moment, playful, present, and focused.  As I no longer do sport seriously (Me:  funny that – with 3 kids to look after…) it took me back to considering the fundamentals of high-performance and how to apply these to my work as it can sometimes be high pressured and there is time when stress needs to be managed.  Though I can see the formal meditations are important for some people, Mindfulness is having a positive impact on me without really doing many.

In fact I actually went to a session on Mindfulness at work which was really well attended and very interesting so clearly it’s not just you who thinks it’s any good!  (Me:  Wow! I hadn’t really realised you’d been thinking of Mindfulness in this way…)

Me:  So back to the inspiration for this post – are you Pete or Jenny?

Him:  I’m a Penny!!!! (Me:  Ha, ha, ha – I’ll take that as a win!)

pete-and-jenny

To me this seems incredibly positive and hopefully shows the benefits, for a whole family, of even just one person practicing mindfulness in the household.

If my hubby can be persuaded to the benefits of Mindfulness then it it my belief that lots of people can.

Living with a MumOn A Mindfulness Mission (2).png

Tammymum
Diary of an imperfect mum
Diary of An Imperfect Mum
The Pramshed
One Messy Mama
Reflectionsfromme
Pink Pear Bear
Pink Pear Bear

32 thoughts on “Living with a Mum on a Mindfulness Mission

  1. I also think that it can give a huge benefit to whole family. Mindfulness is really important and if I could be calmer after that training its something what I need
    #FamilyFun

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is brilliant, I love that mindfulness has had such a positive impact on your whole family. I chuckled at your partner’s first answers – sounded a lot like the kind of thing my husband would say, too!! It did make me laugh when I saw it on cold feet. I still need to find out a bit more about it and really start implementing it in my everyday life. #FamilyFun

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well it seems like your husband is learning! I think mindfulness is very important and I was like your husband and thought it was about meditation but it’s really about a state of mind, lovely post really great to here a different perspective : ). #fortheloveofblog

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was chuckling at his first answers and laughed that you had to bribe him with beer! I think it’s great that he’s picked up on your changes and values it and you. Loving oh! Thanks for linking up to #familyfun

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah yay thats amazing! It must feel so nice hearing him say all that. I am trying my best with mindfulness, goodness knows I need it sometimes. I think I still have some way to go though. I love reading your posts they motivate me and keep me going on my mindful journey – this one more than ever. Thank you for sharing it with us at #familyfun

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I loved your little comments throughout his answers. It reminded me of my own voice inside my head when talking to my hubby! I’m glad he can see the benefits of all your hard work. He totally gets is and is on board, even if he pretends he isn’t!! #GlobalBlogging

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Aww that must be so lovely to hear. It’s amazing what they do actually take in. I practice mindfulness and it helps me and my family so much, everyone benefits #globalblogging

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is such an interesting post. It’s almost hearing the skeptic’s point of view, but he has certainly been won over. I like the idea that the emphasis isn’t on meditation, because whenever I meditate, I fall asleep! Thank you to you and your hubby for sharing. Alison x #mg

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’ve never heard of the series “cold feet” before. But listening to your husband it sounds like your household seems to be calmer. I could definitely use a bit of that! 🙂 Thanks for sharing with us! #globalblogging

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This is fascinating. I love that you had to add beer to get honest answers, it’s the same in our house! Mindfulness is something we are trying to explore as a family. Thank you so much for being a part of the #bigpinklink it’s great to have you with us!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Guest series: Mindfulness and Me #1 | Mindful Mummy Mission

  12. I think it really does have benefits for the whole family. Mindfulness helped me so much with dealing with all the stress I was struggling to cope with a couple of year ago and really it is what inspired my journey back to writing and discovering love for myself for the first time ever. It is great to see your hubby is taking notice and seeing benefits, a gorgeous post! #mg

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment – I’m so pleased that you find Mindfulness really helpful too. I was actually hoping you may want to take part in my new guest series ‘Mindfulness and Me’ at some point. Please do take a look – I’m sure lots of my readers would love to hear about your journey. Thanks again for all the support. x

      Like

  13. Pingback: Guest series: Mindfulness and Me #2 | Mindful Mummy Mission

Leave a comment