Wicked Wednesdays #9: A Mindful Multi-tasking Mummy

Mindfulness and multi-tasking are incompatible – so say  Mindfulness Gurus like Jon Kabat-Zinn and Mark Williams.  And of course they are right.  Who am I to argue with eminent professors from two of the world’s leading universities?

However if you are a busy parent like me (and I’m guessing you are otherwise you probably wouldn’t be visiting this blog) trying your best to approach the craziness mindfully, then sometimes we have to deviate from the ‘purist’ approach.

So this week’s Wicked Wednesday post are some old photos that I have dug out to show a Mum simply trying to be mindful of all her children’s needs and focusing on meeting them all at the same time.

Excuse me that I’m not staring into the eyes of any of my children lovingly or indeed mindfully (and also excuse just how knackered I’m looking – these are certainly not glamorous photos of motherhood) but this was ‘feeding and reading’ time that took over our lives for the first half of 2015.

Every few hours life would stop so that I could breastfeed a baby, bottle feed another and  read to my son.  We hit upon ‘feeding and reading’ as I was acutely aware of the need to somehow include our eldest in this important but potentially tedious time (in his view) and to therefore try and stop resentment of his baby twin sisters building up.

Empathising with our children (or anyone for that matter) when we’re ‘running on empty’ is certainly a challenge.  However it is something that Mindfulness can help us with (basically by being as open as possible to considering situations from someone else’s perspective).

Hence why I think these pictures demonstrate how mindful multi-tasking does have a place in busy households!

NB:  My Wicked Wednesdays posts are inspired by the fabulous Brummy Mummy of 2 and her encouragement of us to share‘real’ family photos and this week’s is extra special.

Not only is it demonstrating how mindfulness and multi-tasking can’t always be separated.  It is also reinforcing Brummy Mummy of 2’s point made in her superb post in response to the Guardian that Mums are not to be categorised or pigeonholed.

You will see from these photos that I was a bottle feeding Mum as well as a breast feeder, a ‘slummy’ Mummy (look at the state of me after all) and a ‘smug’ Mum (look at the proud smile across my face – I felt like Supermum at times during those sessions!)

Nothing is ever as black and white and this applies to any attempts by anyone, including the media, to try and divide parents into different and conflicting camps.

 

Two Tiny Hands
Cuddle Fairy
A Mum Track Mind
brummymummyof2

20 thoughts on “Wicked Wednesdays #9: A Mindful Multi-tasking Mummy

  1. Brilliant job and a prime example of mum winning! I like sound of feeding reading time! I tend to read while I feed too! Thanks for linking up to #familyfun

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great idea to include your son in the feeding time, they can often feel so pushed out. Wish I’d done this x
    #FamilyFun

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my goodness you are amazing. Talk about dedicating every part of you to your children. It’s lovely that you wanted to include your son too. I had a newborn and a just turned one year old and can remember feeding my newborn with a book on my laptop with the one year old or being handed toy after toy as she brought me the whole collection. But like you it involved everyone and kept everyone content! Thanks for sharing this at #familyfun xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahhh thanks so much for the lovely comment. Wow – I think your situation sounds even harder than twins – well done for surviving and keeping everyone content. Thanks for hosting #familyfun xx

      Like

  4. This is a brilliant post! Reading and feeding is a great idea and one I will bear in mind if/when we have another. I love your pictures. I totally agree with Emma – and you – about the media trying to instigate a battle which doesn’t really exist – we are all just mothers doing our best and sometimes we might appear smug, sometimes we might appear slummy. #FamilyFun

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Amazing mummy is what you are! What a fab photo to share and I love the point you are using it to illustrate. Pigeon holing people is lazy. If we all fitted into neat little boxes, life may be less complex, but it certainly is far from the way the all are (thank goodness!) Alison x #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think most parents of more than two kids can relate to this! Once you have more kids than hands, things get more tricky, especially when they are babies/ toddlers. You’re right, all families and parenting styles are different and can’t be compared- we are all out to do the best we can in a way that suits #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

  7. There’s definitely no stereotyping going on here lovely, what a wonderful job you are doing bringing up twins. People need to be see both sides, and not pass judgement on how we bring up our children. What a beautiful photo this really is. Thanks so much for linking up at #fortheloveofBLOG. Claire x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ah fab post!!! As women we are all things all of the time. The Guardian post was so daft! I understand the comments were pretty grim as well. So I made sure that I didn’t read them! Have a lovely Sunday and can’t wait to see what you have lined up for this week on Wicked Wednesdays! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment