A Crash Course in Mindfulness for Bloggers*

*although anyone who posts ANYTHING online may find this post helpful (that’s just about all of us then!)

In one sense blogging naturally lends itself towards mindfulness.  I’m sure it’s not just me that finds it extremely easy to be totally absorbed in the writing of a blog post; if the TV is on I don’t notice it, if there is a conversation going on around me I probably won’t engage in it (even if it’s just me and my hubby!), if the house is a tip I won’t care less as long as I  can hear the tap, tap of my digits on the keyboard.

blogging

However, on the other hand being a blogger may, if we’re not careful, make adopting a mindful approach to life, even trickier than for others.  The constant flicking between different tabs when online – Twitter, Facebook, Gmail, other blogs, your own blog, the ease in which one can fall into autopilot mode when scrolling through Twitter or Facebook feeds and how easy it is to always be planning and composing blogs, Tweets, Facebook posts in your head while doing something else in your day (playing with the kids for instance or supposedly having a ‘deep and meaningful’ with your partner) all detract from mindful living.  And that’s even before we broach the subject of fitting in meditation practices AND blogging AND managing different social media accounts AND doing everything else that life throws at us…  If we’re not careful blogging can affect our well-being and, on a personal level, jeopardise my ‘mission’ to live mindfully.

girl_blogging1

But I ‘heart’ my new hobby ‘blogging’ so I need to try and make both mindfulness and blogging as compatible as possible.  How am I going to do that I wonder?

So here are some of the ideas that I came up with:

  1.  I will remember to STOP when logging on. This slide that I use with my students is a good reminder of what this means.

 

STOP

2.  I will endeavor to use ALL my senses more when blogging AND importantly when thinking about blogging when I am doing something else.    Whilst blogging I will endeavour to listen to the tap, tap of digits on the keyboard, feel my feet on the floor to help me to feel grounded, smell the aromas around(for instance a lovely scented candle – I have the White Company’s Orange Grove burning at the moment a a Birthday treat from my lovely hubby).  Whilst when away from blogging and recognising that my mind is becoming preoccupied with the blog at an inappropriate time (like when teaching Year 9s!), I will also use my breath to reconnect with the present moment and ‘feel my feet’ to anchor myself too.

3.      I will make ‘kindfulness’ and gratitude part of the blogging experience.  I’m really kindfulnessenjoying ‘virtually’ getting to know some other bloggers and reading lots of different posts.  Now I’m feeling a bit braver, I’m even getting involved in some of the fab linkys that are around.  Lots is written about ‘blogger etiquette’ but I think lovefrommim’s post about ‘how to be a friendly blogger’ nicely sums up the lovely side of the blogging community and how friendly, encouraging and supportive people can be.  Science is increasingly finding evidence to ‘back up’ what we already know that showing kindness to others (e.g. by taking the time to properly read their posts and write considered comments for instance) helps our own health and happiness too.  Equally, if someone has take the time to read and comment on a post it is nice  to show appreciation for this as gratitude is a principle connected with mindfulness too.

Dont-Believe1_defd5ff64a595c2139afede64e9c87434. On the other hand it’s also helpful to keep the adage ‘thoughts are not facts’  in mind when engaging with readers and other bloggers.  When stats are down or comments aren’t coming in, it’s easy to start to ‘make stories’ up in your head about why this might be.  Statements like:  nobody likes my blog, the posts are boring people, people think the look is crappy etc. creep in and usually are highly self-critical.  However, it is necessary to remember that more often than not reasons for less interaction with the blog are generally much more mundane.  People have good intentions to read posts but life’s busy and it slips their mind, other bloggers may join lots of linkys and then not be able to keep up with them all for instance.  It’s NOT a personal thing, it’s just 21st century life.

5.  Finally I will continue to try to put self-care first.  If blogging is becoming a chore I will take a break, even a full ‘Digital Detox’ if need be.   I find communicating this with followers/the rest of your ‘virtual community’  helps and deleting apps from phones temporarily too! Having a ‘date night’ with my hubby, even as simple cuddling on the sofa watching TV, is much better than both being either end of the sofa looking at different screens!  I will also try to prioritise an early night every once in a while for a chance to catch up on some much needed sleep.   Going for a run always works wonders for me too – getting the endorphins going –  or doing a 3 minute breathing space like the free one on www.franticworld.com. Choosing the right times to decide to put self-care above blogging will hopefully help to ‘recharge’ the ‘blogging batteries’ anyway.

to blog...

So, I am logging off to go and do a ‘breathing space’ mini meditation.  What about you guys?  Which, if any, of these points resonate with you?  It would be lovely to ‘hear’ your thoughts, I’d be most grateful for the feedback ;-).

You Baby Me Mummy
Two Tiny Hands
A Mum Track Mind

 

Petite Pudding
My Random Musings

38 thoughts on “A Crash Course in Mindfulness for Bloggers*

  1. Ohh great tips! I can’t say I ever do breathing exercises or meditate in anyway but it sounds really beneficial. It was interesting to read how you can use these techniques to be a more mindful blogger.xx #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this – just what I needed to read and I loved the slide! literally love the saying breathing in and out – it is unbelievable how that helps you stay grounded and clears your mind – thank you so much – I really enjoyed reading this post #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

    • So pleased you found the post useful. I know breathing is the MOST natural thing in the world and yet we take it for granted…. so simply connecting with it is so helpful!!! I’m feeling more grounded now just by typing this and being reminded of focusing on the breath! x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great self-care points on here for anyone who works hard, thank you! I am very interested in Mindfulness and keep meaning to read about it in more depth, but as you say 21st Century life gets in the way of lots of good intentions. #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha ha – yes it certainly does – which I guess is why we need it more than ever! If you get a chance to read a couple more of my posts – like mindfulness for mummies or anyone else feeling frazzled? they may give you a bit more info. rather than having to google it. Hope you get the chance to find out more x

      Like

  4. They all resonate with me – it’s something I’ve been thinking more and more about as I’ve got things happening in my life that I need to spend time connecting with in my thoughts but end up blogging or thinking about blogging! I need a digital detox very soon or a strict plan at least. I take frequent blogging breaks which I find really useful and I don’t have any social media or ability to log into my blog on my phone…this helps me disconnect when I’m out and about but obviously not so much at home. A really interesting post, thank you for sharing these ideas #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I definitely agree with the switching off when blogging and concentrating on the here and now and your own thoughts- it sometimes seems terribly self indulgent but then you have to remind yourself how important that is for the brain and growing as a person. I think your site is fantastic and look forward to reading more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Lou – that’s very kind of you and yes it is lovely to get into the ‘flow’ of writing at times, just as long as it doesn’t hamper other aspects of our lives…. x

      Like

  6. This really resonates with me. I just started blogging about 6 weeks ago and i’ve had to make a real effort to step away for a night or two. I’m enjoying it but with a 1 year old that’s a bad sleeper, a part time job and everything else it’s easy for it all to get on top of you. I’ll make an effort to have an early night once a week and a date night with DH 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s so true that being a blogger makes this even more difficult. It’s constant as well as reactive and not only does that make it difficult to be mindful, it makes it difficult to switch off at bedtime! I think it is good to find a balance and you have some great advice here. Thanks for sharing on #fortheloveofBLOG x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Some great tips. Blogging definitely has a habit of taking over life and I’ve only been blogging about 5 months and i love it but I’m starting to take my life back a bit more. I love the kindness element. I always try and be kind. Thanks for linking to #abrandnewday

    Liked by 1 person

  9. My youngest is constantly referring to the lessons of mindfulness as they have touched on it at her school. I particularly like the STOP theories – O resonating the most with me. It is also good to read your thoughts on blogging. As a new one myself, I do question the time commitment and my abandonment of myself and those around me as a result. Stopping and taking a step back is a good tip. Thanks for your insight. #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s so nice to hear that your youngest is enjoying the mindfulness lessons – the students I have taught seem to really take to it and are more open to trying it then you might think! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a comment. x

      Like

  10. Pingback: A Brand New Day 13 - two tiny hands

  11. Point 4 is exactly how i feel quite often! Point 5 is what i have been doing lately, i now go to the gym a few times a week and will stay off social media to watch TV or just chat to my husband when i feel like i need to step back. It has made a difference to my state of mind. Thanks for linking up to #puddinglove

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I love this, I love point 4 – story of my life. I will endeavor to do breathing exercises after logging off, I could see it would be beneficial! I am alsoenjoying the blogging experience and I love speaking to everyone else who blogs about similar subjects, it is so interesting! #puddlinglove

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I find breathing helps after the rush of adrenalin on the laptop in the eve! It’s so nice to have a lovely community to bounce ideas off etc. Thanks for commenting. x

      Like

  13. This is really good advice. I often myself mentally writing the next post/story when I’m supposed to be doing something else, and more often than not, neither task ends up done well. I love the way you suggest connecting with your sense to stay in the moment. I’m going to give that one a try next time I find this happening,
    Thanks for linking up to #AnythingGoes 🙂
    Debbie

    Like

  14. It is so hard to find a balance sometimes. If I’m super organised I can usually manage to have a good couple of nights ‘blog free’ which is actually nice to take a break. And some days if I don’t schedule tweets I do feel like there’s this nagging urge to pick up my phone and quickly do it but then I tell myself that it’s not the end of the world, I can catch up tomorrow! It’s hard though but U agree it needs to be done. Great tips by the way #AnythingGoes

    Like

  15. Pingback: Blog Toast Tuesday: 6 September 2016 – The Mum Reviews

  16. This is just what I needed. Thank you! Trying to write a blog on mindfulness and being mindful at the same time – I am quickly discovering what a mission that is. . . And I don’t have a family to keep on top of at the same time!! These tips are excellent. Thank you for caring for your fellow bloggers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes it can be tricky can’t it? I have to be very disciplined not to let meditation time slip because I want to blog! But having said that writing about mindfulness reminds me to be mindful on a daily basis which is good. I hope you find the same. Look forward to taking a look at your blog. x

      Like

  17. Yes, this resonates with me: the desire to be mindful, the distraction that blogging can bring, the negative self talk when there aren’t enough post comments or stats hit a low. Your steps sound helpful. This year I am attempting to create a new blog and as I do I’m going to keep them in mind. My goal is balance and groundedness. Thank you for your post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment