Mindful Eating and Motherhood – can the two co-exist?

The irony of this post is that whilst I am typing away I am actually scoffing a ‘Double Decker’  bar that I bought in a multipack in a moment of weakness on a recent family trip to Aldi (does anyone else try and disguise trips to the supermarket as a ‘ family activity’ or is that just me?!).  Deep down I KNOW I’m actually full from dinner and yet I can’t resist.  After a tiring day with the tots I find I reward myself with treats (mostly salty snacks, wine and chocolate in that order) that I can consume easily and without much thought.

to-do.png

 

And yet I chomp (or slurp) my way through these delights so quickly that I barely taste them.  And this is AFTER the children have all been tucked up in bed – it’s worse in the day.  Taking quick bites of toast at brekkie time  while rushing round the kitchen getting the tots their most important meal of the day before the school run, eating lunch as quickly as is humanly possible before the kids get restless and start lobbing food around the kitchen or trying to climb out of their high-chairs (or in between lessons, revision sessions and detentions if I’m at work) for instance. At teatime I regularly find myself eating the children’s leftovers (sometimes even from the mat put down to protect the kitchen floor from the mess….yuk).  Then there’s the times I find myself standing at the kitchen cupboards with my back to the children stuffing in a quick couple of biscuits or some squares of chocolate before they notice and want some too.  Please tell me this is not just me…..

Please-Chocolate-I-Am-Trying-To-Fit-Funny-Meme-Picture

 

Of course, none of what I have just described is in the least bit mindful.  Mealtimes are often when mums are multi-tasking the most and there is certainly limited opportunity to savour each mouthful.  However, a couple of  weeks ago I found myself eating some very cheap and very nasty sweets that our eldest had acquired and it made me realise that  something had to change.  Having gone through one singleton pregnancy and a twin one, finding myself nearer to 40 then I would like, and the fact that I can no longer call myself a ‘gym bunny’ made me turn to a couple of articles on mindful eating for some tips and I found this one particularly helpful.

I also did the chocolate meditation with a small group of students recently and found it very useful in understanding that if we take our time over our food and really experience the taste, smell, textures then we won’t feel the need to eat so much chocolateand therefore will feel fitter and better able to cope with the demands being made upon us everyday by our gorgeous offspring.  This task also reminded me of when the twins were exploring their food in the early days of baby-led weaning and how healthy it is for all the family to take mealtimes at a slower pace to really explore and appreciate our food.

So, conclusions?  Realistically I will still be found rushing around the kitchen stuffing toast in my mouth and not truly ‘experiencing’ the taste of it tomorrow morning.  However, I will endeavour to slow down when it comes to eating my supper sans children and am going to try my hardest to resist eating standing up (i.e. at the kitchen cupboards) anytime after the morning rush is over.  I hope mostly sitting down to eat will mean a more healthy and energetic me (less sugar fueled maybe?!) as I will have time to consider what I am consuming instead of eating it on the run or behind a cupboard door….and with summer around the corner if a bit more of eating mindfully helps me to shed a few pounds then that would be no bad thing either :-).

 

A Mum Track Mind

8 thoughts on “Mindful Eating and Motherhood – can the two co-exist?

  1. A very interesting perspective. Nutrition has a role to play in general wellbeing and whilst treats like chocolate, crisps etc give a short term hit, Mother always finds she feels guilty after eating them. Like you, Mother has good intentions but she practically inhales her food now with me around, she eats it that quickly 😉 #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A great read and I say that for purely selfish reasons that I’m delighted to find another normal mum out there! Normal being that you say it how it is, whether we are gym bunnies, book worms, wine drinking, cake nibbling, nail biting freaks, we are Mums and dads giving this parenting game a good go. Lovely post:) X

    Mainy

    #fortheloveofblog

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My children are older, but I still find myself sneaking food when I hope they are not looking! Mindful eating sounds interesting, it will not do me any harm to slow down a bit with my food.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like the idea of eating mindfully. My daughter and I often seem to end up eating at different times, because she’s always hungry at random moments! Then she tends to want to be entertained while eating by me telling funny stories or watching TV. I must admit I’m the same I love to read blogs while I eat. I wonder if mindful eating would help. And I totally relate about the destressing with food. I’m a crisp addict, and it’s become an almost daily thing since becoming a parent! #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your first line in this post made me laugh because this is just something that I would do! In fact, I could have written this whole post. I got used to eating whatever I wanted in pregnancy and whilst breastfeeding and now I think I’m addicted! I am trying to shed some of my baby weight so I definitely need to slow down and eat more mindfully. Thanks so much for sharing this interesting post – at least I know that I’m not alone! #fortheloveofBLOG x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hee hee – so it’s not just me then – phew! Yes I still eat like I am preggers or breastfeeding and must remember that this is now no longer the case and need to reign in my eating!!!! We’ll see how we go….. x

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: 24 Mindful Hours in London | Mindful Mummy Mission

  7. Pingback: Wishing You a Merry Mindful Christmas | Mission: Mindfulness – the blog

Leave a comment